"Paleo" is a modern food movement based on very non-modern eating habits...as non-modern as our paleolithic ancestors. The idea is to eat like ancient caveman - only foods that could be hunted or gathered. The sweets under this category are made only with ingredients allowed on this diet, and the sweeteners considered "Paleo" are natural, and minimally processed, like: maple syrup, maple sugar, honey*, dates, coconut, coconut sugar/nectar, palm sugar, and stevia. Cacao is a fruit, so cacao alone can be considered "Paleo".
Even though the Paleo movement is not a vegan one at all, there are vegan products that still fall into this category. All Paleo sweets chosen by HunnyBon are vegan ones. *No "HunnyBon" products currently contain any honey.